SETI Talk - A new book on Mathematical SETI

Event Details

SETI Talk - A new book on Mathematical SETI

Time: April 23, 2013 from 12pm to 1pm
Location: The SETI Institute
Website or Map: http://saganet.org/page/theat…
Event Type: public talk
Organized By: The SETI Institute
Latest Activity: Apr 22, 2013

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 12 PM PDT/ 3PM EDT / 7PM GMT

Watch LIVE from the SAGAN Theater

A new book on Mathematical SETI

Claudio Maccone, IAA
Stephane Dumas, SETI League, Eastern Canada Coordinator

mathematical seti

Claudio Maccone and Stephane Dumas have developed new techniques that could be used in the task of analyzing possible SETI signals in a mathematical fashion. Claudio and Stephane will talk about the new ideas in the book 'Mathematical SETI' published in 2012. This book is intended for University-level courses on SETI and related fields for graduates, post-graduates and researchers, and so a preliminary background isassumed in college mathematics (like basic calculus, probability and stochastic processes), and also a basic background in astronomy and astronautics. Claudio and Stephane will give an introduction to the topics covered in the book, including:

1)    the Statistical Drake Equation and its extension to the Evolution of Life, Human History and “Entropy Progress”,

2)    the FOCAL spacecraft mission to the Sun's radio gravitational lensing location, and

3)    the use of the Karhunen-Loeve Transform (KLT) which can be used to analyze radio signals and extract potential SETI communications.

Watch LIVE from the SAGAN Theater

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for SETI Talk - A new book on Mathematical SETI to add comments!

Join SAGANet

Attending (1)

© 2021   Blue Marble Space, a non-profit organization committed to science and science outreach.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service